Book Review: Trying Not To Love You by Megan Smith

Posted 05/25/2013 by Juliana in Book, Review /// 0 Comments ///

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Trying Not To Love You by Megan Smith Title: Trying Not To Love You
Author: Megan Smith
Series: Love Series #1
Publisher by: Independent
Published on: May 16, 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult Romance, Romance
Format: eARC
Book Rating:
Series Rating:

Add It: Visit on Goodreads
Find It: Buy on Amazon // Buy on B&N

Related Books In Series: Blue Love

Related Books: Easy To Love You, Hard To Love You, Finding Us

MacKenzie Cahill has dealt with overbearing and overprotective brothers her entire life, making it near impossible to enjoy her teenage years. Having a boyfriend was practically impossible until she met a guy that wasn't afraid to stand up to them - Dominic. He was sweet, thoughtful, and everything MacKenzie ever wanted in a man.

But when they go away to college at Old Dominion University, MacKenzie sees a whole new side of Dominic and begins to wonder if he really is different from every other guy.

Her world is turned upside down after a party, and her brothers' best friend Hunter is the one there to offer her a shoulder to cry on. The chemistry between them is electric, and feelings for each other that have been hidden for years are finally voiced.

Is Hunter willing to be disloyal to his best friends in order to be with the one girl he's always secretly wanted?

Well what can I say about Trying Not to Love You….I fell in love 🙂 I am a sucker for the friends turned lovers theme and this book did for me. Plus they are all from New Jersey…Jackpot Megan!

Hunter is h-o-t and it is not only because of the steam. There really isn’t a lot of steam but does not take away from you falling love with him. Megan did a great job writing him and all the guys. The ending was bittersweet (cliffhanger haters beware…lol) because on one hand I wanted it to have a HEA but then I wasn’t ready to let go of Hunter and Kenzie. You will laugh, you will cry and you will scream at you Kindle a few times.

The story starts with Hunter and Kenzie as kids meeting and you work your way up to present day. I loved not only the relationship between Hunter and Kenzie but all the interactions between friends/family. Her brothers are overbearing, super protective and funny as hell. Her best friend, Hailey, is the kind every girl should want. She pushes your buttons but you never have to doubt that she will have your back till the end of time. Kenzie struggles through must of the book trying to find a life and identity past her over protective brothers and Hunter. Hunter has a hard time dealing with his feelings for Kenzie and the family/friends he has known the majority of his life. The book is not only the story of Kenzie and Hunter but of the whole family. These are people that have been together for a long time and have so strong ties to each other. As in real life, that can sometimes be a good thing and a bad thing. Their journey was far from easy and many times I found myself angry with Kenzie but I had to remember she was 18. Who had all the answers to love at 18? I sure as hell didn’t 🙂

I am so excited for book 2 after the cliffhanger Megan Smith leaves us with and cannot wait to see where Megan plans on take Kenzie, Hunter and this wonderful family she created. A definite must read 🙂

Love Series – Purchase Links and Series Order


About Megan Smith

USA TODAY bestselling author Megan Smith is a New Jersey native managing purchasing for an award-winning business IT and software development firm – and by night creating the memorable characters her fans have grown to adore. Smith’s The Love Series introduces readers to MacKenzie Cahill – a hopeful young woman who experiences adversity, challenges and the bittersweet triumph of true, authentic love.
Smith is a wife and mother, who makes time for her family, professional life and the creation of the Cahill’s world. Fans of The Love Series – Trying Not To Love You, Easy To Love You, Hard To Love You – are captivated by relationships, special bonds and family ties pervasive in Smith’s emotional, energized and engaging work. Smith is also the author of the 2014 releases, Let Me Love You – continuations of The Love Series, Finding Us (Finding Series) and a few top secret projects.