Book Review — Little Peach by Peggy Kern

Posted 04/18/2015 by Cezanne in Book, Review /// 0 Comments ///


Book Review — Little Peach by Peggy Kern Title: Little Peach
Author: Peggy Kern
Publisher by: Balzer + Bray
Published on: March 10, 2015
Genres: Mature YA, Young Adult Romance
Page Count: 208
Format: Hardcover
Book Rating:

Add It: Visit on Goodreads
Find It: Buy on Amazon // Buy on B&N // Buy the Hardcover

A riveting and powerful story of a runaway girl lured into prostitution in New York City, perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins and Patricia McCormick.

What do you do if you're in trouble?

When Michelle runs away from her drug-addicted mother, she has just enough money to make it to New York City, where she hopes to move in with a friend. But once she arrives at the bustling Port Authority, she is confronted with the terrifying truth: She is alone and out of options.

Then she meets Devon, a good-looking, well-dressed guy who emerges from the crowd armed with a kind smile, a place for her to stay, and eyes that seem to understand exactly how she feels. But Devon is not who he seems to be, and soon Michelle finds herself engulfed in the world of child prostitution, where he becomes her "Daddy" and she is his "Little Peach." It is a world of impossible choices, where the line between love and abuse, captor and savior, is blurred beyond recognition.

This hauntingly vivid story illustrates the human spirit's indomitable search for home and one girl's struggle to survive.

This book was fast paced, gripping, emotional, and all too real.


“I’d give anything to freeze this moment -before you know the truth.”

From the moment I read the synopsis to Little Peach, I knew I had to read it. I knew the subject matter was not going to be an easy one, but I was still anxious to read it. It doesn’t seem right to say I enjoyed this story; it made me uncomfortable, it made me sad, it made me think, and yet I would absolutely recommend it.

Michelle is only fourteen years old when she runs away from home. She needed to escape her home life. Her mother was a drug addict and for years her grandfather had been her only consistent source of stability, love, and protection. When he passes away she feels she has no one left. Her mother is too far gone to protect her and finally sends her away.

“My girls call me Daddy. You should too, ’cause that’s what I am. I can take care of you. I protect you. ….”

With her last few dollars she has left, she buys herself a ticket to New York. She hopes that she can start a new life, a better life, but she quickly realizes she’s completely alone and that she has little money. When she meets Devon, he’s nice to her, he’s gives her food and a place to stay. For a while she feels safe and protected again, but things weren’t want they seemed.

“You want a family? You got it, girl. We right here. And we got a place for you. Just for you.”

Even though the book is short, the story is powerful. This book really hit me emotionally. Even thought it’s fictionalized, you know these things are happening in the world right now. It was so scary to see how quickly Michelle was lured into prostitution. She just wanted a family and to feel safe and they preyed on her innocence. Seeing her life with the other girls Kat and Baby, they almost seemed like a real family. Devon, could be kind to them but it was a very tedious balance between protector, captor, and pimp. The things they had to do nearly broke my heart. The girls really did form a bond and I was devastated when certain events took place. This was not a an easy read for me, but I am very glad that I read it.

About Peggy Kern

Peggy Kern has written two books for the Bluford Series. She lives with her daughter in Massachusetts.