Book Review – Loud Is How I Love You by Mercy Brown

Posted 01/19/2016 by Cezanne in Book, Review /// 0 Comments ///

Book Review – Loud Is How I Love You by Mercy Brown Title: Loud Is How I Love You
Author: Mercy Brown
Series: Hub City Series #1
Publisher by: InterMix
Published on: January 19, 2016
Genres: New Adult Romance, Contemporary Romance
Page Count: 227
Format: eARC
Book Rating:
Series Rating:

Add It: Visit on Goodreads
Find It: Buy on Amazon // Buy on B&N

One girl’s heart gets rocked to the core in the first novel in this sexy New Adult series.

Twenty-one-year-old front girl Emmylou knows that getting her band noticed in the ‘90s indie rock scene will be no easy task. She definitely knows better than to break the number one rule of the band: Don't sleep with your bandmates! But after she ends up having the best sex of her life with her guitarist, Travis, she finds following that rule is a lot harder than it sounds.

When the band gets the gig of their dreams, making it big seems just within reach. But Emmy’s inability to keep her hands off Travis threatens everything they’ve worked for. Can Emmy find a way to break the rules and not blow the chance of a lifetime?

“Loud is how I love you, Loud is how I know you’re there, Loud so I don’t lose you, Because I’d know the sound of you anywhere.”

Loud Is How I Love You, was a crazy mix of music, love, and friendship. The story was a bit disjointed at times but it was fun, sexy, and it made me laugh more than once. What I loved most about this story was Emmy and Travis’ connection. They had the ultimate chemistry. Plus they had a strong foundation just through their friendship and music. 

Emmy or EmmyLou, is the front woman for Stars On The Floor (aka SOFT). She’s young, smart, and the daughter of a rocker.  She’s in college studying for her English degree, but her ultimate dream is to make in big in the music industry. She loves music and her band more than anything else and she does not want to do anything to jeopardize it. Emmy’s number one rule is “Don’t f**k anyone in the band.” It’s a rule she’s had always followed, until her and her guitarist/best friend, Travis “Bean”, slept with together. For Emmy, being with Travis was more than she could have imagined. Their physical connection was amazing, but Emmy was continuously worried that their moment together could ruin the band and her dreams. 

Travis, sweet, sweet Travis. I fell for him, it was hard not to! He was smart, handsome, and the most gentle and loving person. He had the patience of a saint. I liked Emmy but my goodness, I wanted to shake some good sense into her. She drove me insane with her insecurities. What kept me reading was her passion for the things that were important to her and the characters themselves.

I do wish that the story had delved more into their backstory and that the pacing (Emmy’s thoughts really) had been a bit more concise. I do think Mercy Brown did a fantastic job of bringing the music and New Jersey to life through out the story. I did enjoy all the characters and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

“Stay loud so I don’t lose you. I will follow the sound of you anywhere.”


 Other Books In The Series

Stay Until We Break

Stay Until We Break (Hub City #2) by Mercy Brown

Releasing June 21, 2016

Amazon | B&N

About Mercy Brown

Mercy Brown is a retired indie rock front girl turned author and LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU is her first book. LOUD is a New Adult novel and will be published by Intermix (Berkley-Penguin) in January 2016. LOUD is based, very, very loosely on Mercy’s experiences fronting bands in the 90s. A follow-up will be published in June 2016.

Mercy is represented by Brooks Sherman of the Bent Agency.